Another Dessert….Another Pin

Mint Pie

My nephew, (who I adore) loves any desserts that are mint.   Now that he is a tween, I feel like this is one of the only ways I get to really spoil him, and do something special for him.   He has always been a fan of most desserts that I make, but I can tell that he really gets into being the one to pick what I make.   Thankfully he has an iPhone so I can text him before family gatherings and ask him what his requests are.

To me mint things scream Christmas and St.Patrick’s Day.   Not sure why (maybe the green?  So over the weekend when he request anything mint for our family BBQ,  I drew a blank.   I needed something that could handle the elements of a typical humid NJ summer day, and that was easy to serve and clean-up.  I always hate being the person who shows up at another person’s home (even family), and requires the use of their major appliances and advanced cutlery.

What Is A Girl To Do?

Hit up the over achieving woman’s paradise….PINTEREST.

Search: Easy No Bake Mint Dessert

Seems I start many searches with the term “Easy No Bake”, since once I hit the letter  “E” in the search button the phrase was there.  More on that later.

Many Many Many things popped up that looked so worth every single calorie.  However I went with this little number:

 

St. Patrick’s Chocolate Mint Pie

The only change that I made, was that I made the pie in “mini” form by putting it together in small plastic cups (the kind people use for wine at parties).    So each person got their own “Pie in a Cup” (secret portion control).   I also decided not to put the mint extract in the pudding mixture, since I think it ran the risk of being too minty.

It was a HUGE hit.  In fact I was told to add this to the rotation.

Special thanks to “Iowa Girl Eats” for giving this Jersey Girl a nice easy dessert to make…

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

